Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

I booked this journey shortly after my trip to Eastern Europe last summer. The round trip ticket was under $400, so I figured I better book something for winter or I will make myself crazy sitting around for two months in Korea. Originally, I wanted to go to Burma, but I stalled on getting tickets there and the price jumped significantly. So, here I am in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia!

To be honest, I started this trip without the excitement to see a bunch of cool places. Probably because the research I did didn’t spark a ton of excitement. The main thing I wanted to see was the Petronas Twin Towers and get my picture taken with this iconic building. Also, I’m looking forward to checking out Singapore because it is a possible place to teach down the road. So, here the journey begins.

The first day in Kuala Lumpur was a bit of a wash. I got in at a reasonable time, but since I had to catch a 4:30 AM bus to Incheon Airport, I didn’t get much sleep that night or the entire journey, and was still off on my sleep from a trip back to the U.S. the week before… I was beat. So, I pretty much went to bed early that first night and got up to do a little exploring the next day.

When I woke up the second day I headed to China Town, where I was able to get my shades fixed and find a lens cap for my camera that I couldn’t even find in the states. I also checked out Central Market. I was not really impressed with either area. I suppose after seeing the Grand Bazar in Istanbul, most of these style markets are hard to compare. But, I saw them and can now say I’ve been there. Fortunately, both these areas are near each other, so I didn’t have to walk to far. From here I was heading to the old train station when it started to pour. I got stuck for about an hour before I decided to make a run for it. I was soaked, but made it back to my hostel. Never leave home without an umbrella when you travel!! After the rain cleared up, I headed to Hard Rock Cafe to get my shot glass and guitar pin and then to the Twin Towers. I’d have to say, they are really beautiful at night! This pretty much concluded my first real day in Kuala Lumpur.

China Town (Picture 1)

Central Market (Picture 1)

Petronas Twin Towers (Picture 1- Day Time)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next day I got up and headed to the Batu Caves. These caves are supposed to be one of the most popular Hindu shrines outside India, dedicated to the Lord Murugan. There are 272 steps that lead up to the caves that were crawling with monkeys. There was also another side cave that was set up as for a Dark Cave Tour. Because it cost about $20-25US, I decided to skip it. I ended up talking to a couple Germans that did do the cave tour and they said they liked it. Maybe it was worth doing.

The caves didn’t take very long to visit and there weren’t a ton of people there. The caves themselves were neat. There were a number of Hindu shrines around and the place smelled of bird and probably monkey crap. With all the monkeys and pigeons, hand sanitizer is probably essential!! After visiting the Batu Caves, I headed to the Petronas Twin Towers to try and get some daytime photos. Unfortunately, I got there about an hour before it would start pouring rain again, so it was pretty dark out from the clouds.

Batu Caves (Picture 1) (Picture 2) (Picture 3) (Picture 4)

This same night, I ended up hanging out with two girls from Switzerland, and dudes from Norway, Australia, Germany, and Northern Ireland at some Reggae rooftop bar. One of the reasons I love traveling… meeting new people. It’s interesting how we talk about traveling to different countries like it’s just something everyone does, but it totally isn’t what everyone does. Because of that, I do need to appreciate my ability to travel more because there may be a time when I can’t travel as often as I do now.

My last day in Kuala Lumpur was pretty much just relaxing. Because I’m on a pretty tight budget this trip, because of starting my MBA and forking over that tuition, I’m taking it easy. The next couple places in Malaysia I’ll be traveling to are supposed to be pretty cheap compared to Kuala Lumpur. And, I know the costs will jump when I get to Singapore. So just gotta watch it!!!

My next stop, Panang, Malaysia. From what I hear, the weather will hopefully be better and I may find this place more interesting than KL. I should have headed there today, oh well.

 

Categories: Malaysia | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

  1. Great photo of the towers, enjoy Panang

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

My Epic Journey- Tom's Travel Journal

Traveling the World One Location at a Time

Griswolds on Vacation

If you're not living life on the edge, you're taking up too much space!

Gina Gorny

Traveling the World One Location at a Time

The Bistro Blog

Listen to The Political Bistro every Saturday evening at 6pm on Seattle's Freedom 1590AM or online at Freedom1590.com!

