Skopje, Macedonia

The Day in Skopje

The hostel was nice and I had decided to book it for two nights. Unfortunately, there were only about three guests that stayed there the whole time I was there. It’s nice because it’s peaceful, but not if you want to meet new people.

I woke up pretty early, but didn’t end up heading out into town until about 11AM. I needed to do some regrouping and relax with a couple cups of Maxim instant coffee that I brought from Korea.  When I did finally leave, I headed down the street and came across the Skopsko Kale Fortress. I wondered around a bit before I headed to The Church of the Holy Savior. Inside, the walls were covered with old paintings and was very alabritly decorated.

Skopsko Kale Fortress (Picture 1) (Picture 2) (Picture 3)

The Church of the Holy Savior (Picture 1)

Just down the road was the Bazaar. Each street sold differant things. The streets I ended up walking down were the gold jewelry and shoe streets. It reminded me of how the old district of Hanoi, Vietnam are set up. When I was done wondering the streets, I sat down and ate some lunch; veil, fries, and a coke.

After lunch, I stopped at the Holocaust Museum, but it really didn’t have any relics other than a box car. I also found it weird that I was the only person there the whole time I was there. An interesting thing I learned when I was in Bulgaria was that Bulgaria saved their Jews from being deported for execution by delaying over and over again, until Hitler had bigger problems to deal with later in the war. But, the Bulgarians occupied Macedonia during this time and shipped over 7,000 Macedonian Jews to Poland. Nearly all of Macedonia’s Jewish people were killed in death camps. With history, there are always two sides of the coin. It was nice to have put the whole story together.

Bulgarian Box Car that transported Macedonian Jews (Picture 1) (Picture 2)

After the museum, I took a lot of pictures of statues that were scattered everywhere. I’ve never been to a city that had so many statues. I crossed the famous Stone Bridge, went to The Mother Teresa House, and passed the Arch. This was pretty much my day! Everything in the city was pretty close together, which I have found to be the case in most of the cities I’ve visited. I did some planning and writing in the evening while also having more veil for dinner. God that’s some good meat! Tomorrow I’m going to the town and country that is reported to have nothing there (according to the Macedonian/ Serbian couple on the bus), Pristina, Kosovo.

Skopje Stone Bridge (Picture 1)

Mother Teresa House (Picture 1) (Picture 2)

Porta Macedonia (Picture 1)

Categories: Eastern Europe | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

My Epic Journey- Tom's Travel Journal

Traveling the World One Location at a Time

Griswolds on Vacation

If you're not living life on the edge, you're taking up too much space!

Gina Gorny

Traveling the World One Location at a Time

The Bistro Blog

Listen to The Political Bistro every Saturday evening at 6pm on Seattle's Freedom 1590AM or online at Freedom1590.com!

