Kaohsiung, Taiwan (Day 6)

Today I woke up at 5 AM to catch a 6 AM train to Kaohsiung with my travel buddy, Kevin. The train ride was between 5-6 hours, so I slept most of the way. I also got to experience using a train squatter. Not easy to do on a moving train, or just in general. I once asked my students how anyone can use these things without stuff falling out of their pockets, or especially in skinny jeans. One student responded by saying he completely de-pants to use.

When we arrived, we went to our hostel, Backpackers 41. This place is really nice and cheap. The owners must have put a lot of work into the place and it is much better than the damp mattress, sheets, and comforter of the last place. After we checked in I changed into some shorts, because the weather is much warmer here, and we headed off to see some sights. We rented some bikes and headed to Cijin Island.

We took a ferry across to the island. The boat was loaded up with peddle bikers and moped drivers. Pretty cool actually!! We then headed to the Cihou Fort. It was involved in a short attack by the Japanese in 1895 and there are a number of pill boxes and old gun placements around this fort area.

20130113-001417.jpg
Not far from the fort was the Chihou lighthouse. It was constructed in 1918. One messed up thing that happened when visiting here was a squatter embarrassment. I had to use a Chinese style toilet, which involves hovering my ars over a hole in the ground again today. I call these squatter toilets. They also have them in Korea. The problem was that lock on the door didn’t work. As I am trying to take a dump, some guy opened the door on me. I swore at him and continued, but I probably scared the crap out of him!! I guess he know what a white rear-end looks like now… haha^^

20130113-001919.jpg
We then took our bikes around the island and I took pictures of temples we passed and spent a little time looking at the ocean. I really do love the smell of salty air and the ocean breeze. Something I miss about Alki Beach in Seattle. One thing we did stop for was BBQ grilled squid. It was so good and hit the spot after biking around. I unfortunately lost a chunk to the ground. Funny thing was a guy was walking by and slipped on it like a banana peel! Oops. I guess the street dogs were not fast enough on eating the scraps people drop.

20130113-002540.jpg
After our squid snack, we headed back to the mainland on the ferry and biked to the Fisherman’s Wharf, checked out the Pier-2 Art District, went along the Love River, and enjoyed some excellent sea food at the Liuhe Night Market.

20130113-003240.jpg
This seafood dish cost only about $5.35 US!!! So delicious^^

20130113-003350.jpg
Well, that is about all I did for the day. Looking forward to sleeping in a little and walking around town again tomorrow. I will be back to traveling solo as Kevin is heading off to see one more city before flying back to Shanghai.

Categories: Taiwan | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

My Epic Journey- Tom's Travel Journal

Traveling the World One Location at a Time

Griswolds on Vacation

If you're not living life on the edge, you're taking up too much space!

Gina Gorny

Traveling the World One Location at a Time

The Bistro Blog

Listen to The Political Bistro every Saturday evening at 6pm on Seattle's Freedom 1590AM or online at Freedom1590.com!

