Taipei, Taiwan (January, 2013) Day 1- The Arrival

So today I embarked on my journey to Taiwan. It started with my taxi driver taking me to the wrong bus stop. For some reason, even when I tell the driver where I want to go, they repeat it, and then still go to the wrong place… this drives me crazy. I then got stuck in rush hour morning traffic and almost missed my bus. Also, he was kind enough to make me pay the extra fare he racked up!!

I made my flight fine and arrived in Taipei after a 2 1/2 flight. At the airport I easily exchanged money and got a SIM card for my iPhone. I was worried I’d have to use my crappy Samsung Galaxy S. Thankfully my new iPhone 5 is unlocked and the Taiwan cell company was able to cut down my SIM card to size. I have unlimited data and talk time for my entire trip for $30!!

After I made my way to the Eight Elephant Hostel near Guting Station, I got ahold of an old friend from Korea, Stu!! We went to KGB Burger, which had an amazing hamburger. Then we walked around looking for some Roxy Bars and found Old 98 Bar. We also ventured through the Shida Night Market and drank some cheap convenience store beers. I had a few Taiwan Beers, which I found very smooth and much better than Korean beer. I also found myself a little dehydrated from walking around and had to pound down some water. I was wearing a few more layers of clothing that was making me sweaty from the humidity.

Well, that is all for my first day!! Now for a hot shower because my back is KILLING me from carrying my pack around.

Categories: Taiwan | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Taipei, Taiwan (January, 2013) Day 1- The Arrival

  1. so yeon

    tommy…kkk sorry about the taxi driver kkk

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

My Epic Journey- Tom's Travel Journal

Traveling the World One Location at a Time

Griswolds on Vacation

If you're not living life on the edge, you're taking up too much space!

Gina Gorny

Traveling the World One Location at a Time

The Bistro Blog

Listen to The Political Bistro every Saturday evening at 6pm on Seattle's Freedom 1590AM or online at Freedom1590.com!

